Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Brooks named North Division All-Star for 2017

Brooks named North Division All-Star for 2017

East Central Community College in Decatur will again serve as the host site for the annual Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges All-Star Basketball Games.

This year's event is set for Friday, April 14. The women's contest begins at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the men's matchup at the Brackeen-Wood Gym.

Holmes Community College sophomore forward Lauren Brooks of Jackson will play for the North Division. Lady Bulldog Head Coach Jamilah Andrews and Assistant Coach LaTaryl Williams will serve as coaches of the North squad.

Other members of the North women include: Melvinisha Jenkins, Coahoma; Averyale Joy and Janesha Johnson, Northwest; Jabria Pounds and Marlee Hatcher, both of Itawamba; Shelby Wilbanks, Lakeiya Lane, and Timaya Stewart, all of Northeast; Quantesha Patterson and Anissa May, both of East Mississippi; and Ariana Sims, Mississippi Delta.

Members of the South Division women's squad are Tenazhia Hinkson, Copiah-Lincoln; Shantavis Hughes and Laneisha Jeans, both of East Central; Areleatha Gipson and Octavia Barnes, both of Hinds; Zan Ratcliffe, Myyah West, and Kyle Felton, all of Jones; Rashanae Rice, Meridian; Shaniqua Tobias, Mississippi Gulf Coast; Deja Starks, Pearl River; and Shalisa Hawthorne, Southwest.

Coaches of Jones County Junior College will serve as head coaches of the South Division.

The MACJC All-Star Basketball Games will be streamed at Access is also available on the ECCC website at

For more information, contact ECCC head basketball coaches Crandal Porter ( or Robert Thompson (