Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's soccer holds postseason banquet

Women's soccer holds postseason banquet

The Holmes Community College Lady Bulldogs Soccer Team held their annual soccer banquet on Tuesday evening, Nov. 28, in the McGowan Workforce Training Center on the Ridgeland Campus.

The banquet gave the players and coaches an opportunity to share a delicious catered meal with friends and family as the reflected on the 2017 season. The evening also included three video slideshows from the season and sophomore players sharing their experiences as Lady Bulldogs. Head Men and Women's Coach Matt Convertino thanked everyone who helped make the season successful.

Volunteer Assistant Coach Jaylon Robinson presented each sophomore player with a plaque and wished them well in their future endeavors. Following his presentation, Women's Associate Head Coach Wesley Noble gave out team awards to a few players who really stood out during the 2017 season. Coach Noble presented the Bulldog Leadership Award to Sarah Chastain, a freshman defender from Madison; the Most Improved Player award to Taylor Gagneaux, a freshman forward from Jackson and the Most Valuable Defensive Player award to Brookelyn Cramer, a freshman defender from Pensacola, Florida.

He also presented Madison Deslatte, a sophomore forward from Madison, with the Most Valuable Offensive Player award (she is a Single Season Assist Record Holder); Brooke Burrell, a sophomore midfielder from Madison, with the Playmaker Award (she is an All-Time Assist Record Holder) and Kendal Walsh, a sophomore forward from Brandon, with both the Golden Boot and Most Valuable Player awards. Walsh is also the All-Time Leading Goal Scorer.

A special award was also presented in honor of Goalkeeper Coach TJay Busin's sister, an All-Conference goalie at Mississippi College who passed away from myelodysplasia in 2002. Coach Busin presented the Amber Busin Dedication Award to Fallon Brooks, a sophomore forward from Brookhaven.

Finally, Coach Noble presented MACJC/NJCAA Awards to seven players. All-State awards were given to Burrell, Irene Mondragon, a sophomore midfielder from Jackson; Britain Welzien, a sophomore defender from Ridgeland and Pepper Ann Filbert, a freshman midfielder from Brandon. All-Region awards went to Cramer, Deslatte and Walsh.